The Ramage Companion

The Ramage Companion

Tom Grundner


Expires in 10 days


  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews


The book that Ramage fans have long awaited

Between 1965 and 1989 the British author, Dudley Pope, wrote the 18-volume Ramage series of nautical fiction novels. With its publication Mr. Pope joined C.S. Forester and Patrick O’Brian as one of the giants of the nautical fiction genre. While companion books have been written for the Forester and O’Brian series, no one has yet written a companion book for Ramage

Until Now!

Tom Grundner has created an indispensable guide for the Ramage fan. Written in a light and entertaining style, he provides snapshots of the people, places and events that shaped Nicholas Ramage and his times. It’s a treasure trove of information not only for the Ramage devotee, but for anyone interested in 18th and early 19th century naval warfare.

• Do you know the difference between a “long nine” and a carronade; the origin of mayonnaise; or how the French press described their victory at Trafalgar?

• Do you know the precise location of “no Where;” the amazing history of the Eddystone Light; or how to make lobscouse?

• If you had a duke, an earl, and a baron over for a cold one and to watch the game, do you know who gets the pretzels first?

The book that puts the capstone on the Ramage series…

The Ramage Companion


Tom Grundner:

Tom Grundner is a graduate of Eastern Michigan University and the University of Southern California. He was former Lieutenant Commander in the U.S Navy and a decorated Vietnam veteran. As a college professor he authored Informed Consent, about the ethics of human experimentation and The Skinner Box Effect about the problem of Internet pornography.

In 2005 he co-authored with Tim Wishon a golf club designer The Search for the Perfect Golf Club, which was followed by The Search for the Perfect Driver.

Grundner’s interest in maritime history began during his years in the U.S. Navy. His first publication was an edited history of the 18th Century Royal Navy called The Men Who Spoke to Hornblower. This was followed by a series of books about Admiral Sir Sidney Smith (1764-1840) of the British Navy, The Midshipman Prince, HMS Diamond, The Temple and Acre.